Men Moving Forward: Mike Hrostoski and The Conference for Men

Mike Hrostoski

The Conference For Men

 

 

Are you a man who wants more out of life?

Are you a woman who knows a man who wants more out of life?

If your answer to either of these questions is “yes” then you will want to read on to learn more about The Conference For Men.

First though, let me frame The Conference for Men with a personal story.

A few years ago I was on a business trip and chose to go out to dinner with a couple of colleagues.  Nothing unusual so far.  Soon after we were seated I noticed that there was a large group seated at a table nearby – a table of about 15 or so.  I noticed balloons and gifts on the table.  Obviously a birthday party so I did not think much of it at first.  But something about the group struck me as unusual.  I just couldn’t put my finger on exactly what.  About halfway through dinner I realized what it was.  All 15 of the people seated at the table were men.  How bizarre right – 15 men, across at least three generations all gathered together to celebrate a friend’s birthday.

Really?  Is that really so unusual?  In my experience it is – unusual enough to catch and hold my attention that night as well as for it to still be fresh in my memory three years later.  Adult men almost never get together to celebrate like that and if they do they do not do it publicly unless of course there is sports, poker, work, or some other distraction involved.

This group of 15 men were at that restaurant for the sole purpose of getting together to celebrate a friend’s birthday and they were doing so in a sober and quiet fashion without the vices of sports, cards, or large amounts of alcohol.  It was so refreshing to see!  Don’t get me wrong.  I like watching and talking about sports and I like to have a beer or glass of wine from time to time, but I want to have friendships with men that involve connection on another level – one that goes deeper than the traditional male bonding conversational topics.  In my experience, I see women naturally getting together in groups for all kinds of reasons – birthdays, to exercise, to talk, to support each other, but I never see or hear about men doing this.  I don’t currently have a group of  men in my life that I feel comfortable getting together with just for some type of mutual support but I have felt the need for something like this for several years.

Mike Hrostoski

Mike Hrostoski

So when I first heard about The Conference For Men I was immediately intrigued.  Mike Hrostoski, a life coach specializing in helping men, is hosting this new conference in San Diego, CA during the weekend of April 25 – 27.  I, unfortunately, am not in a position to attend but I can certainly help promote it by raising awareness around this awesome opportunity.

A key quote from The Conference For Men website, that really captures the force and focus of the event is:

“In 3 Days, Conquer Your Anxieties Around Women, Wealth, and Emotional Well-Being, While Uniting With a Community of Brothers Committed To Creating A Life On Your Own Terms”

It is the “Emotional Well-Being” and “Uniting With a Community of Brothers Committed to Creating A Life On Your Own Terms” pieces of that quote that resonate the most with me.  Where can I sign up?  Well, unfortunately, as I mentioned before, I cannot but maybe you can!  I encourage you to visit The Conference For Men website by clicking any of the hyperlinks  provided within the text of this email.

If you do attend please let us all know what the experience was like by coming back and leaving a comment on this post.

How can we support Mike Hrostoski’s vision in our own communities?

I am interested to hear from my male readers:

Do you have a group of male friends that get together to support each other emotionally?  By this I mean do you get together and talk honestly and candidly about the issues, challenges, successes, failures in your lives?

If so, please share your experiences by leaving a comment.

If not, what are some things you might be able to do to start a group like this in your neighborhood, community, city?  Please share these ideas with the group via a comment as well.

For my female readers, please feel free to share your experiences.  Do you have a group of female friends that support each other emotionally in some way?  Do you feel that it would help the men in your life to have the opportunity to get together with other men in this way?

As always, thank you for your readership and thank you for your help!

With Peace and Gratitude,

Steve Strother

Author’s Note:  To further frame how unusual it is to find/see men supporting other men really is, I offer another personal example.  I am a self-professed expert on positivity on Facebook.  For several years I have been following, via Facebook, numerous people, groups, and organizations that promote positive awareness.  The good news  is that I have found so many such sites (and the list continues to grow) that I truthfully cannot keep up with them all.  My finding, in following these positive focused Facebook pages, is that they all are either not gender specific in their audience or they cater specifically to women.  I have not found a single group on Facebook that focuses on positive oriented topics, emotional support, etc. that is designed for only men.  Likewise, there are many life coaches that do not specify a gender preference in their clientele and there are many female life coaches that specialize in working with women.  I only know of two life coaches (including Mike Hrostoski) that focus their work on men’s issues.  I state this here because I feel that it further supports the need for The Conference For Men and other events focused on the specific challenges that men face.

About Steve Strother

I am a husband/father/human being looking for ways to move past the status quo. I strive to find solutions; to find the positive; to celebrate the joyous, the just, and the inspirational. Living peacefully and compassionately in the present is my ultimate goal. I love to write! To learn more about me please visit my blog at stevesthinkingspace.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in Men, Men's Issues, Personal Development, Personal Growth and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Men Moving Forward: Mike Hrostoski and The Conference for Men

  1. robvcase says:

    Reblogged this on robvcase's Blog and commented:
    Another great blog post from my friend Steve Strothers!

  2. robvcase says:

    You rock Steve! Keep up the good work my Man!

Leave a Reply

