Claiming Spirituality

I mentioned on my new About page that defining what spirituality means is difficult.  I feel

Charleston, SC

Path at Marion Square

it is difficult mainly because it means something different to each of us.  The fact that spirituality is hard to define though, does not make it any less important.

For all of my life I have shied away from any conversation that involved discussing spirituality publicly, content to think about it personally and maybe talk about it with my closest friends and loved ones.  Anything more than that just seemed to scary.

So I took a major step last February when registering for the TEDxCharlotte event.  The theme of that event was “Unlimited” and as part of the online registration each person was asked to choose one word from a list.  The word each attendee chose was supposed to identify something that unlimits them and it was clear that this was going to be used as some type of ice breaker at TEDxCharlotte.  There were many things on the list that I could have chosen.  Several that would have been easy and comfortable.  But right there, in the middle of the list, was the word “spirituality”.  I came close to choosing something else but I decided to be fully honest with myself and others this time even if it meant some uncomfortable (though probably beneficial) conversations at the actual event.  Of all of the options, spirituality was definitely the one that unlimits me the most.  So I picked it.  It turns out that the word each person chose was printed on their name badge.  The intent was that people could see your word and ask you about it as an ice breaker to get conversations started.  Interestingly enough however, while I had many conversations with people at TEDxCharlotte, nobody asked me about spirituality and how it unlimits me!!

A few months later, I attended the World Domination Summit (WDS).  It was an incredible experience that I detail in two previous posts – Pushing Way Past My Comfort Zone and Perfecting My Anti-Elevator Pitch.  At WDS, there were many opportunities to sign-up for attendee led meet-ups.  One of the meet-ups was called “Accidental Seekers, Hippies and Spirituality Enthusiasts Unite! A Gathering for Conscious Living” and was sponsored by Huffington Post writers Karen Talavera and Beverley Golden.  In the past, while this type of meet-up would have interested me, I would have skipped it, for fear that I would not have anything of value to say to anyone or that I would have trouble defining spirituality.  Not this time.  I signed up and showed up.  And I met some great people and had some good conversations about spirituality and peace in the process.

After shunning my spiritual side publicly all of my life, I have finally begun to publicly

White clouds in fall afternoon sky

White clouds in fall afternoon sky

claim spirituality as important to me.   In addition to the two situations detailed above,  I am now publicly claiming spirituality as important to me here on this blog.  I have reached a point in my development where I feel I cannot fully move forward without discussing spiritual concepts with others and so making this move to claiming my spirituality is a big and important step.  I also have a strong feeling that there are a lot of people out there that have the same need.  By opening up to the universe with full realization that I am a spiritual being I hope to reach others that are looking for spiritual conversation and connections as well.  This cannot happen by just thinking about spiritual concepts.  It requires action – the types of action that I am starting to take.  I look forward to the journey!

Are there important areas in your life that you have kept hidden but that you are now stepping into fully and embracing in a more public way?  Spirituality, fitness, love, peace, public speaking, travel, it could be almost anything!  If so, I would love to hear more.  Please share by leaving a comment!

With Peace and Gratitude,

Steve Strother

Sunset Over Soccer Field

Sunset Over Soccer Field

*The photos in this post were taken on my iPhone.  While they do not directly relate to the subject matter of this post, the photos are included as part of my goal to add visual appeal to my posts through the use of nature photography.

About Steve Strother

I am a husband/father/human being looking for ways to move past the status quo. I strive to find solutions; to find the positive; to celebrate the joyous, the just, and the inspirational. Living peacefully and compassionately in the present is my ultimate goal. I love to write! To learn more about me please visit my blog at stevesthinkingspace.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in life lessons, Spirituality and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

