Peace in Nature Haiku

The May Bloggers for Peace challenge is all about the relationship of art and peace.  Kozo of Everyday Gurus has asked participating bloggers to post about how art and peace are related in their lives.  Some of his suggestions for completing the May challenge are:

  • Create a piece of art that brings peace to the world and post it on your blog.
  • Publish a photo, painting, film clip, poem, sculpture, music video, dance video, or book excerpt that brings peace into your life. Explain how the art makes you a more peaceful person.

My May Bloggers for Peace challenge entry consists of a simple iPhone photo I took while on a business trip in Kentucky this week along with a haiku that I wrote to capture the experience.

The Photo:

Sunset over Morehead, Kentucky

Sunset over Morehead, Kentucky

Haiku:

Mountains at sunset.

Sweet scent of honeysuckle.

I know there is peace.

Explanation:

Nature always helps me feel more at peace.  When the stress and struggles of life start weighing on my mind it is usually an experience with nature that helps calm me down.  This was certainly true this week during my business trip in Kentucky.  The end of fiscal year stresses of my sales job combined with the fact that my exercise routine (running) has been curtailed by a foot injury for the last two months had me feeling low.  Low to the point of actually feeling run down.  On Wednesday, despite this feeling, I went for a walk anyway and I was treated to this scene.  It was a pleasant night with the temperature in the mid 70s.  The sky was vibrant with the pinks, purples, and blues created by the waning sun.  Honeysuckle, blooming thickly in the empty lots around the hotel, produced a heavy, sweet, scent that calmed my mind.  The sounds of crickets in the brush and birds calling to each other in the trees rounded out the experience and helped lift my mood.

Nature has a way of helping me remember how much more there is to this world.  It is so easy to get wrapped up in perceived problems and therefore miss the beauty that is all around.  When I witness the beauty of nature I become thankful.  Thankful that the beauty exists.  Thankful for the opportunity to witness the beauty.  Feeling thankful brings me peace.  My Kentucky sunset experience brought back my peaceful side and the feeling has stayed with me ever since.

Does nature help you feel more at peace?  Does art?  Music?  Please let us know by leaving a comment.

An interesting side note:  I had not read the May Bloggers for Peace challenge prior to my walk this past Wednesday.  I went for the walk and had the peaceful experience first. I returned to my hotel room and then read the challenge.  I knew right away that my walk at sunset experience was what I needed to write about.

If you are a blogger and would like to join this movement, simply click here or on any of the links for Bloggers for Peace within the text of this article to find instructions for how to do so.

With Peace and Gratitude,

Steve Strother

Related Blogging for Peace Articles

Art – A Bloggers for Peace Post

Peace is Flowing Like a River

A Peace of Picasso

Amitabha Buddhist Retreat Centre Weekly Teaching

Peace and My Piano

About Steve Strother

I am a husband/father/human being looking for ways to move past the status quo. I strive to find solutions; to find the positive; to celebrate the joyous, the just, and the inspirational. Living peacefully and compassionately in the present is my ultimate goal. I love to write! To learn more about me please visit my blog at stevesthinkingspace.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in B4Peace, Haiku, Peace and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Peace in Nature Haiku

  1. seeker says:

    Nature has healing properties. Thanks for posting.

  2. That is a gorgeous shot, Steve. Like a fantastic ice cream sundae all splattered in the sky. 😀

  3. EJ says:

    That sky is stunning, and I love the haiku too – it gave me a real sense of the peace you experienced.
    The sky offers a great many inspirational moments, if we remember to look up; it’s such a pleasure to see one of those moments captured for posterity.
    I really enjoyed this post 🙂

    • I am really glad to hear that the photo and haiku brought you a sense of the peace I experienced. I was hoping that I would be able to portray that and bring peace to others in the process. I agree with you re: the inspirational moments offered by the sky. This is something I notice and think about often. What a great idea for a future post for both of us! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the post! Thank you for your kind words and thank you for visiting!

  4. Kozo Hattori says:

    Love this, Steve. I love the photo, the poem, and the explanation. I have no idea what honeysuckle smells like, but I can feel the peace your found. I am so grateful that you shared this peace with us. I believe that every ripple of peace we send out into the world is felt by everyone. {{{hugs}}} Kozo

    • I hope that you are able to smell honeysuckle some day Kozo. It has a heavy, sweet, and pleasant scent. I like your belief that every ripple of peace we send out into the world is felt by everyone. I think this is true as well though I had never thought it through to that extent until I read your comment. Do you mind if I post this quote of yours on Facebook? Also, thank you for starting the Bloggers for Peace project and for managing it throughout the year. It has already helped me discover some things about myself in relation to peace that will help me put more ripples of peace out into the world going forward!

      • Kozo Hattori says:

        Yay, more ripples, Steve. Of course, you can facebook anything that will bring peace. Thank you so much for being a peacemaker. I have high hopes for what we are/will accomplish. {{{hugs}}} Kozo

Leave a Reply

