New Plans at StevesThinkingSpace

Hello Everyone!  I just wanted to drop everyone a quick note to let you know about two new initiatives at StevesThinkingSpace.  In the very near future you can look forward to the following:

  • Reviews of Businesses doing positive things – Starting the week of May 27 I will occasionally post a review of a business that I feel is doing something positive for its community, society, the world.  I already have the first two businesses lined up.  I recently interviewed Jessica Garmon of Trashed (A creative recycling studio in Concord, NC) and Vicky Geros-Holmes of Lotus Living Arts Studio of Concord.  You will learn a lot more about both of these businesses in future posts.  Tentatively, I hope to post about Trashed by Thursday, May 31 and about Lotus Living Arts Studio of Concord by Thursday, June 7.
  • Images of Joy – Late in 2011 there was a post being shared around the Facebook community that was a collection of the top 50 news images of 2011.  Author/Blogger Jonathan Fields wisely pointed out that almost all of the images derived their power from tragedy.  This got my attention, and soon after I decided I wanted to do something to counter this type of focus.  So I am starting now.  On a regular basis I will post an image to this blog that derives its power from joy and I am asking my readers to help me out.  I will post some of my own photographs, etc. but I want this to be a group effort.  If you have images of joy that you would like to share here at StevesThinkingSpace please contact me and we will work out the details of getting them included.  I will give full credit to the contributor (and the photographer/artist if they are two different people).  These images can be in any form – photographs, sketches, drawings, paintings, etc.  When possible, I will ask the contributor to include  a description of the image and I will also plan to include my own thoughts on the image as well.  I have several ideas regarding some possible images as well as contributors so stay tuned, and please do contact me if you have something you would like to contribute.  I hope to start the Images of Joy series within the next month.

With aloha,

Steve Strother

About Steve Strother

I am a husband/father/human being looking for ways to move past the status quo. I strive to find solutions; to find the positive; to celebrate the joyous, the just, and the inspirational. Living peacefully and compassionately in the present is my ultimate goal. I love to write! To learn more about me please visit my blog at stevesthinkingspace.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in announcement, joy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Plans at StevesThinkingSpace

  1. Thien Gretchen says:

    Can’t wait, Steve! These ideas are awesome. 🙂

Leave a Reply

