Pushing Way Past My Comfort Zone

World Domination Summit, Portland, Oregon

I am a runner and am therefore accustomed to pushing past my comfort zone from both a mental and physical perspective when training and racing.  When it comes to other areas in my life however, I am not proficient at all with leaving the easy, calming comfort of the known.  So this past weekend I took a risk and pushed the envelope.

I attended the World Domination Summit (WDS) In Portland, Oregon Friday, July 5 through Sunday, July 7.  For those that do not already know, each year Chris Guillebeau hosts WDS with a focus on how to live a remarkable life in a conventional world.    As you might guess, the conference attracts a huge number of people (over 2800 this year) with big ideas, strong passions, and lots of creative energy.  WDS is a blogger’s dream conference and so naturally I wanted to attend (see #10 on my New Year’s Resolutions post from last December).

It is safe to say that prior to attending WDS, I expected to be inspired by the speakers, workshops, and fellow attendees during my time there.  WDS easily met and surpassed my expectations.  I will leave the specific highlights of WDS for a future blog post however, because I want to focus on something different here – something that was less expected.

Opening Ceremony at the Portland Zoo

I signed up for World Domination Summit back in January.  My excitement grew as the conference approached.  About a week before the conference however I started having a degree of trepidation about attending.  Thoughts like, “What am I thinking,  I do not know anyone there” and “What if I do not fit in” started running through my mind.  But there was no backing out – tickets had already been purchased, travel arrangements had already been made.

So I made a deal with myself – to show up fully for the opportunities that presented themselves at WDS.  Attending WDS was a rare opportunity and I did not want to let my worries keep me from experiencing it completely.

When I arrived at WDS it did seem a little awkward at first.  I did not have anyone to tag along with or to help me break the ice with new people.  I had to rely completely on my own social skills to get the job done.  A scary thought for an introvert like me.  But what I found as I navigated through the crowd of the WDS weekend and attended a full schedule of talks, discussions, workshops, informal meet-ups, etc. was that the reality of it was actually quite liberating.  I met some awesome people at WDS and I hope to keep in touch with as many of them as possible going forward.  Because I was alone, I had complete World Domination Summit 2013, Portland, ORflexibility with how I planned my schedule. I could have chosen to take it easy by attending only the big sessions while skipping out on the smaller meet-ups and the larger celebrations that necessitated closer social interaction.  Instead, I chose to put myself out there and I met all of those great people.  World Domination Summit provided a number of great learning experiences for me – the most unexpected being that I found I can survive quite well in a big crowd of people who I do not know.  In fact, going somewhere you have never been, without anyone else around that you know, and really showing up by being open to the learning opportunities is an experience I recommend to everyone.

Have you pushed past your comfort zone in some way recently?  Please feel free to leave a comment to share your story.

With Peace and Gratitude,

Steve Strother

*Be looking for at least one more post about my experiences at World Domination Summit 2013 in the near future.

About Steve Strother

I am a husband/father/human being looking for ways to move past the status quo. I strive to find solutions; to find the positive; to celebrate the joyous, the just, and the inspirational. Living peacefully and compassionately in the present is my ultimate goal. I love to write! To learn more about me please visit my blog at stevesthinkingspace.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in life lessons and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Pushing Way Past My Comfort Zone

  1. sherry says:

    How marvelous, Steve! Such a great attitude going into the unknown. (Are you an introvert? You are the most social of the four of us.)

    • Thank you Mom! It was an amazing experience! I will publish another post in a few days with more detail. If I have to pick one (which I did in this post) then Yes – I am an introvert. I just recently started to admit it though. On a scale of 1 to 10 with 10 being extreme extrovert and 1 being extreme introvert I am probably a 4 or 4.5. The main characteristic I have that tells me that I am an introvert is that I need to get away from the crowd to recharge every now and then. Truthfully though, what I really am is an ambivert – someone who possesses the characteristics of introversion and extroversion. Depending on the situation, who I am with, and my mood at the time I can be either. I think most people are really ambiverts. There are not many people that are pure introverts or extroverts.

  2. Congratulations on pushing past your comfort zone. That is the only way to ensure continual growth.

    “There are no limits. There are only plateaus, and you must not stay there, you must go beyond them.” – Bruce Lee

    • Thank you Caelan! It was a great experience and I plan on pushing past my comfort zone more often now. I go through periods of my life when I tend to stick with what is comfortable (the plateaus) and periods where I push past them. I look to push past them a lot more now. Thank you also for the cool Bruce Lee quote!

  3. Pingback: Perfecting My Anti-Elevator Pitch at World Domination Summit 2013 | Steve's Thinking Space

  4. Pingback: Claiming Spirituality | Steve's Thinking Space

Leave a Reply

